Which makes you smile?

balancing rocks at big sur

My initial draw to landscape photography is the epic and surreal wow effects some renown photographers create in their artwork. Recently, I discovered a new realm that is refreshing both my eyes and ideas. In the norms of landscape photography, there are many nights in hostel beds or sleeping bags to be on location with the sun, there are good lighting and composition to achieve the vision, there are small aperture  and tripod (or sturdy hands) to capture the details. But what if I take out the small aperture and details out of a landscape? I was astounded by the level of creativity I could play with just the light and shape. Just like how artists were drawn to impressionism in the 19th-century art movement – short, thick strokes of paint capturing the shape of the subject rather than the details, I was immediately hypnotized by the dreamy quality of bokeh created with wide apertures and landscape composition using modern technology.

Tell me friends, between the following two images, which makes you smile?

Golden Gate Bridge at night

Golden Gate Bridge in Bokeh

Me? I like both. But the one with variations of shape, color, and textures in the out of focus part certainly puts a smile on me.

Therefore, my pursuit of bokeh begins just now…

11 comments

  1. They’re all lovely, Erica. However, the sharp focus of Golden Gate bridge wins it for me as I have such happy memories of a romantic walk there many, many years ago. Sadly, the marriage didn’t last but I have an amazing son who now has a girl friend who studies in Berkeley!

    Much lovexxx

  2. Yi

    I like both too. The clear one brings the smile to me when it reminds me the wonderful memory I had with friends and family while visiting there before. The blurry one makes me smile, too because it gives me a wider range of imagination to let my mind flows. Plus the colorful dots just so cheerful to look at. :-)

  3. Love all 3 photos – I like to play around with my photos too:) Have a Great One!

  4. They both make me smile, I like the crisp photo, but just looking at both Is inspiring!

  5. They both make me smile. I like the crisp photo, but getting to compare them makes me smile. Thanks!

  6. A Table in the Sun

    I like them both but if the blurry one had one area of focus I wouldn’t feel like I forgot to put on my glasses….LOL!

  7. The clear and sharp photo of the Golden Gate bridge affects me so! But then again, it’s because of golden memories attached to it. =>

  8. When I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I
    recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment. Is there a means you can remove me
    from that service? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,793 other followers

