Extra thankful

holiday lights

I love the darker cozier evenings of December and the simplicity of a candle, a clean house, a huge couch, and a movie to cry or laugh about. The year-end holidays always make me feeling extra thankful, thinking that in the past eleven and a half months we… …

Climbed the top of half dome; wedded as husband and wife; tried camping the first time and loved it (I love my sleeping bag thousand times more than a hotel bed); earned spending money from taking photos, from which I have ordered a special gift for the bread-winner of the house. (I am excited to see the look on his face when he gets it, but I will keep my expectation at adequate level.)

Got a bunch of  nice things and gears for higher quality of living, while also harvested a handful of loss and mistakes for enriched spirit of being.

Learned that whenever I felt my entire world was collapsing and drowning, tomorrow will always be a bright day to heal and embrace. I have seen the answers I asked for, and even I may not seem to have them all, I know I am being placed somewhere on the track of reaching them.

There are so much to look forward to next year and I can’t wait for the curtains to be rolled up - make more photos and hang them on a gallery wall, learn to ski, and try out the legendary rim-to-rim hike… This year was marked with the saddest and happiest moments so far in my life, and I am sure there will be more of both to come next year. This year, I opened the door, dragged the happiness in and kicked the sadness out, only to find out that the sadness kept pounding on the door and keeping me going out. Next year, I must be prepared to properly greet both of them at the door and make the best out of my relationships with them.

5 comments

  1. This is an amazing reflection! I also really love the photo you used. Did you take it? It’s beautiful! :)

  2. Thank you for sharing your reflection. As I have candles lit on a dark December evening, family together, I just read your post and can’t agree more. For me 2012 was difficult but I know that 2013 will be great. Thank you for sharing and hope to read more!

  3. amnesiaclinic

    Thanks, Erica. More very wise words!
    I too have a great deal to be thankful for!
    There’s no doubt the last few months have been very traumatic for many of us. I have had a bad crash but walked away from it so although my car is witten off I am very, very lucky to have just walked away.
    Have a lovely holiday.

    Lovexxxx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,793 other followers

