Rosemary-Parmesan Biscotti, and Lesson Learned

Occasionally, I have trouble falling asleep in the middle of night, with eyes wild open and mind randomly poping ideas up. What makes it even worse is then I would wake up at dawn.  That was what happened last night and thankfully, this post was one of the million things in my head. I have to blame it on reading too much blogs and recipes. I was lying on the bed with head spinning around with all things baked or cooked. Apparently, the more food I think, the more hungry I got, and when I am hungry, I couldn’t sleep.. Since I am wildly awake, I kept pondering what I am going to create in days to come. So, the vicious circle kept rolling.

I am an optimist, so I tend to look at the bright side of the sleep trouble. The good thing is I get super productive and creative, with streams of thoughts and cooking projects, as long as I get my morning espresso. As usual, I was flipping up and down in my mail box filled with Blog Feeds and this Rosemary-Parmesan Crostini caught my eye.

Hero likes cheesy garlic-ky bread, the white kind. I learned this from numerous breads I’ve bought and fed him. He gobbled up the whole package of the “Asiago-Parmesan Rolls” from Trader Joe’s the day I bought it. Now I have only the “California Black Bread” from Whole Grain Bread Company, at which he frown like a toddler, and I have to somehow get more of the cheesy ones.

Speaking of which, here is the lesson I learned from cooking for people other than myself. I am a nutrition science student so I tend to eat what is healthy over what is super tasty. If the food is healthy, I would pay less attention on the taste side and still be able to enjoy the “goodness”, especially when it is something I cooked. When Hero doesn’t like what I made, (and he is a terrible “lier”, thankfully), I get upset and persistent on preaching the nutrition lessons. Last week, I threw in too much unrelated vegetables in an egg strata. He frowned and I got discouraged. 

I learned that it’s not his problem, it is my problem. A good chef certainly does not cook for his or her own belief.

So I made it. Upon all the good intentions, this recipe is not daunting, for someone who had never kneaded bread before.

Leave a Reply

