Use What’s Been Given

One of those days, I just need inspiration. Stepping back from the delights of finding something new with photographing, I stare at my works, and feel like something is missing. The pictures look like they are being numbered from one to one hundred. When it comes to photography, I am extremely difficult to please. The more I see, the farther away I am from satisfaction.

I think everyone had this kind of feeling – very frustrated not knowing how to reach the other side of the bank while admiring something very stunning over there and watching people passing around. On the down side, I blame I don’t have the right tools other people have. I could spend hundreds of times searching for what I want… and I don’t really know what I am searching for… Ah, I wish someone could hook me and haul me over there. These are the times when I am beaten by discouragement. Don’t feel like baking, don’t bother taking pictures, in one word, passionless.

I told myself to be patient and contented with what I have.

Valentine’s Day is coming, so is my birthday. I wish I have an ideal spot in the kitchen or dinning area where there is ample natural light during the day, where the camera is nicely sitting on a tripod, where there is a shooting surface, white foam boards, and lots of cute little plates and props. My wishlist is probably long enough to circle the earth several times.

After all, it’s okay that I don’t have them right now, because I know eventually we will.

I am happy with what I have and I’ll just use what’s been given. This afternoon, I found some greek yogurt in the fridge and decided on a simple yogurt pound cake. How could I not be satisfied with a piece of tangy tenderness topped with just the right amount of flaky eggy-smelling crust? It’s that simple, count 1,2, 3, and you’ve got it.

Simple Yogurt Pound Cake

Adapted from Bon Appétit

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup plain 2% greek yogurt
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tbsp melted butter, cooled
 

Method:

Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 350°F. Generously grease a 9 by 5 loaf pan.

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt into medium bowl. Combine yogurt, sugar, eggs, lemon zest, melted butter, and vanilla in large bowl; whisk until well blended. Gradually whisk in dry ingredients. Transfer batter to prepared pan. Place pan on baking sheet.

Place cake pan on baking sheet in oven and bake until cake begins to pull away from sides of pan and a tooth pick inserted into center comes out clean, about 50 minutes. Cool cake in pan on rack 5 minutes. Cut around pan sides to loosen cake. Turn cake out onto rack. Turn cake upright on rack and cool completely.

Cut cake crosswise into slices, and serve.

Leave a Reply

