Homemade Swiss Muesli

Today I want to share my all time favorite breakfast food: Muesli. (Aka, Hero’s workday breakfast) And.. It has a funny sounding name, pronounced müse-lee. Try to say it, you will be amused. :)

Ever since I introduced muesli to Hero, he has never been sick of eating it . I usually make a huge bag of these for him to store in his office. Actually it’s too easy to say make, assemble would be a better verb. The muesli will last for 2 months or so and I am totally free from one more thing everyday. 

I love muesli because this whole grain food provides high sustainable energy that helps me get the daily dose of healthy fasts and soluble fiber. I also eat it frequently as a pre-workout meal for my dance classes, hiking trips, and gym exercises.

For those who are wondering what muesli is, muesli is a cold cereal that is originated in Switzerland. It was developed by a Swiss physician around 1900 to serve to the patients in his hospital in Zürich. It actually has its own story on wiki  if you are interested to check out further on wiki. Generally, it’s made from uncooked rolled whole grains such as oat, barley, rye, and wheat, and contains nuts, seeds and fruits.

Muesli is totally fool-proof to make, definitely easier than making granola. You just take the muesli recipe ingredients, toss them altogether, mix well, bag it, and there you go, a lovely box of homemade muesli. I like to make a batch of them and store in an air-tight container.

In terms of serving, I do the traditional way. At night, I scoop 1/2 cup of the muesli into a bowl, then add milk or yogurt just to cover them, and put it straight to the refrigerator and go to bed. The next morning, I will wake up to a bowl of heavenly muesli that I wish I had made two bowls. If I want to make it fancy, I will grate an apple or whatever fresh fruit I got from farmer’s market and drizzle a little honey over the top… Yumm. Trust me, you have to give it a try!

 As you see, soaking process is the key here because this method makes an “grain-milk” that is rich and creamy. As the muesli drenched in milk, the grain flavor permeates into the liquid, creating a unique and flavorful cereal overnight.

Store-bought Muesli can be expensive and you only find it in natural food stores, so it really pays off to make it yourself. Also, making homemade muesli allows me to customize the recipe to my preferences.

Multi Grain Muesli Recipe

(Printable Recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup rolled rye
  • 1 cup rolled barley
  • 1 cup rolled wheat
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried dates
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, pecans or sliced/silvered almonds
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal, or whole flaxseeds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
 

(This is a blend of 50% grains and 50% nuts, seeds and dry fruit mix.)

 Method

Toss all the ingredients and mix them well. Store in air-tight container.

The night before, soak 1/2 cup Muesli in 1 cup yogurt, milk, soy milk or fruit juice overnight. Enjoy it the next morning!

2 comments

  1. Kara

    I have used your recipe several times, but added dried apricots, pumpkin seeds, +/- coconut, wheat germ and fresh fruit. This is the best recipe that I could find that offered a good wholesome basic
    ingredient list. It always turns out great.

  2. Perfect idea. I store my musli in a box and do exactly the same- soak it evening for the morning breakfast. I just add some soya milk and heat it all up. Great brekkie!

Leave a Reply

