Orange Scented Butter Mochi Cake

Baking is like doing Chemistry lab. I have baked a lot of quick breads, because these bread require little equipment. I don’t have a stand mixer (which is already on my wishing list once we have a full kitchen), so I am getting a little bit bored with baking powder, baking soda, acidity, AP flour, or whole wheat pastry flour. Recently, I read about a Mochi Cake recipe from New Asian Cuisine and I have been eyeing on that for couple days. I have some Mochiko flour left from making the bunny yuanxiao. Just while I am wondering how would I do with the rest of the flour, I can’t wait to try this Mochi Cake.

I did not really get what kind of cake it is until mine comes hot off the oven. It has a unique sugary flaky crust and smell incredibly. Can’t wait to let it cool down, I pull a piece from the corner and put in my mouth. Umm, it reminds me of fried sticky rice donuts coated with sesame seeds (here’s a picture) which I loved from my childhood.. very interesting…  The orange zest I put in gives this cake a pleasant refreshing taste. It’s hardly a cake to my understanding, just like I believe mooncake should never be called “cake”. It’s chewy, sticky, and the best part is the crust, OMG,  it’s nothing like any western style cake I’ve baked.

If you like those Japanese style mochi cake or anything made from Japanese sweet rice or glutinous rice, you are going to love this sweet treats.

I think I am going to buy several more bags of Mochiko just to make it again! Next time, to maximize the crust, the best part, I am going to use the mini muffin tin instead of the 9*13 bake pan. And flavours, how about Matcha? Reb Bean Paste (adzuki bean paste)? or anything fruity, like strawberry or blueberry?

Orange Scented Butter Mochi Cake (Sweet Rice Flour Cake) Recipe

(Printable Recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb mochiko (sweet rice flour, 3 cups)
  • 1 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups 2% milk
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Zest of 1 large orange

 

Method:

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F.

Whisk together mochiko, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.

Whisk together milk, eggs, butter, vanilla and orange zest in another bowl. Add liquid mixture to dry flour mixture, whisking until batter is combined.

Pour batter into an ungreased 13- by 9-inch baking pan, smoothing top, and bake until top is golden and cake begins to pull away from sides of pan, about 90 minutes. Cool cake completely in pan on a rack, about 2 hours. Cut mochi into 24 squares or whatever servings you like.

Leave a Reply

