Blackberry Blue Cornmeal Cake – Creaming Method

As I wash out the bowls and cups, I looked at the behavior of the leftover batter. They nicely float off the sides and dissolves in the steaming water stream. And that’s how I know I have a superior cake to look forward to in about 50 minutes.

This is how it comes out of the oven! Smells heavenly… I am pulling myself away not to cut it until I take good amount of photos of this baby. The result of creaming 6 oz (172 grams) of butter with 1 cup (200 grams) of sugar into pale yellow fluffiness.

Some of the blueberries blackberries even bake into a heart shape, isn’t that cute? Hold on, the blackberry doesn’t stop on just the top layer. You may sneak peek the inside as I slice through one piece for you.

Here you are! Did you see that little heart-shaped berry at the front? It seems so comfy snuggling with the cake, doesn’t want to be picked up. …Helpless adorable. 

Be prepared for a double crunch as you open your mouth. One from the little bits of blue cornmeal and the other from the crunches of blackberry seeds. Which one you gonna bite into first depends on where you start with this piece.

It’s already 5 pm as I stared at this cake and dinner is almost less than 2 hours away. I know you know what I am struggling with… Hack! I poured myself a cup of tea and finished one piece, little-by-little. Yummy tummy, I am satisfied.

Where is the idea of blue cornmeal and blackberry comes from? Well, I got the blue cornmeal from Sprouts Market that sells bulky food. (I love bulk food store because I could experiment with the different ingredients in baking without breaking the bank.) The blue cornmeal has a dull violet color on its own, so I am not sure what color it will give to the cake. I don’t want my cake turn out to have an unpleasant blue-ish color that would kill my appetite. And I suddenly pictured in my mind a cake with dark-colored berries in between to balance the color from blue cornmeal. So here comes this cake. To my great relief, the blue cornmeal never lend its color to the entire cake. However, it disguised itself into millions of vanilla beans – the little dark dots sparkling through the cake. What a nice surprise!

Blackberry Blue Cornmeal Cake

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup blue cornmeal
1 teaspoon baking powder
scant sprinkle of ground cinnamon
pinch of salt
6 oz unsalted butter, room temperature (very important)
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup whole milk + 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
1 cup of blackberry, fresh or frozen (like I used)

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease the bottom and sides of a 9 in springform pan. Line the bottom with round parchment paper or foil. (Do a little cutting here)

Sift the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and cornmeal and stir together to combine.

Put the softened butter and sugar into a mixer bowl and beat on medium speed until pale-colored and fluffy. Volume should be increased little bit.

Add in the eggs one at a time, make sure one is incorporated before adding the other. Add vanilla extract after the eggs.

The milk with lemon juice should start to curdle by now.

Add the sifted flour mixture and the milk mixture to the butter bowl in alternations, dry flour mixture-milk-then dry flour mixture. Gently beat just until all are combined. Do not over beat.

Spread half of the mixture into the springform pan, spreading evenly. Place blackberry over the batter into the shape you like.

Spread the rest of the batter on to the berry layer and top with the remaining berry. Gently press berries on top so they are half way out the batter.

Bake in the oven for about 50 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

4 comments

  1. Recipe Chefs

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post.

    Check out this Delicious Strawberry Cake Recipe

  2. Simple and sweet. I’m thinking of starting another blog or five pretty soon, and I’ll definitely consider this theme. Keep ‘em coming!

  3. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also. Keep working ,great job!

  4. Pingback: Blue Corn Muffin, Pantry Cleaning Victories | Honey & Hero

Leave a Reply

