Visit Tartine Bakery

If I could live in the San Fran city, I would like to bound myself with Tartine Bakery. Last weekend, I had the chance to hit there for the little mid-day pick me up.

Our eyes were wild open, but we were committed – patiently waited in line. I handed the waiting job over to Hero and sneaked myself into the back of the bakery. It was HOT back there as rolls after rolls of just baked country bread coming out of the huge oven. Not even touched, I could almost imagine myself tearing off the crusty crust and smell the aroma that developed from the long rise. And then I could feel my fingers burned from poking into the steaming, airy, and chewy bread.  I wish I had grabbed my camera at that moment, but you could also watch this video and you’ll know what I’m mumbling about.

Soon after, it was my turn and I didn’t hold back. “A lemon cream tart and a loaf of bread, please.” I hugged the warm bread over the chest while holding the tart box in hand, like no other happy kid.

I finished the tart even before our car could get on the highway. Hence, I don’t have the picture of the tart I actually ate. Eating becomes the priority when I couldn’t resist the food and shooting becomes something like “I wish I had taken a picture of that…” I’ll see if I can replicate one of their lemon cream tart someday later on. For now, just try your best to image something like this: “Sweet pastry shell filled with rich lemon cream, topped with unsweetened cream“.

All I have now is this day-old bread. It’s so wonderfully versatile, I like to simple toast one slice and spread whatever I could fix from the kitchen.

Let’s think about Tuna Cream Cheese Crostini.

Tuna Cream Cheese Spread on Tartine Bread Crostini

Ingredients

1 red, green, yellow, or orange bell pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1 7oz canned tuna in olive oil, drained

scant 1/2 cup cream cheese

4 tbsp chopped cilantro

1 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

Method

Preheat the oven to 400F. Brush the bell peppers with the oil and put in a roasting pan. Roast in the preheated oven for 30 minutes, then turn over and roast for another 10 minutes, until the skins have blistered and blackened.

Transfer the roasted pepper to a place and let it cool for about 15 minutes, or until enough to handle.

Meanwhile, put the tuna on paper towels and pat dry to remove the extra oil. Transfer to a food processor; then add the cream cheese, cilantro, lemon juice and process until mixed together. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Carefully peel away the skins from the cooled bell pepper, remove the stems, cores and seeds. Cut the pepper into little bites.

Mix the peppers and the tuna cream cheese mixture in a bowl and you’ve got a great spread for sandwich, crostini, or roll it up with butter lettuce.

Leave a Reply

