Happy 1st Blog-iversary Tiramisu

One year ago, I started the Honeynhero blog. Initially, I was going to write along with my jounery towards becoming a dietitian, but I am sorry to realize that there wasn’t many articles about this topic except a few at the beginning.  However, this place has gradually evolved into somewhere I bake and make sweets, somewhere I tell you stories of life,  somewhere we track the places we’ve been to, by means of clumsy words and not yet perfect pictures.

When the plans I had planned don’t work at the moment, I find something else that work. It’s hard to accept the truth and the right things to do, something I know deep in my heart but don’t want anyone else to say it out loud. I am blessed to have the freedom of my own form and to be able to seek what makes me happy (… of course in most cases include listening to the words from THE MAN OF THE HOUSE…).  I had wished for this when I was little but now that I have it I feel something is missing. For me, it was about control, which is not your favorite thing. I have wared with myself, so I learned the hard way to de-stress my mind and to convey the words in peace. When there were times that everthing seems to fall apart, I rather give in, for the smile on the face. Life makes love look hard. I realized, because it is amazingly enchanting to see you happy.

“It’s bitter but something keeps me wanting more.” It is what you decribed the Tiramisu.

Life is bitter, but love keeps us strong together.

Tiramisu

Adapted from Ina Garten

Ingredients

6 extra-large egg yolks, at room temperature
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup good dark rum, divided
1 cup brewed espresso, divided
16 ounces mascarpone cheese
30 Italian ladyfingers, or savoiardi
Bittersweet chocolate, shaved or grated

Directions

Whisk the egg yolks and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment on high speed for about 5 minutes, or until very thick and light yellow. Lower the speed to medium and add 1/4 cup rum, 1/4 cup espresso, and the mascarpone. Whisk until smooth.

Combine the remaining 1/4 cup rum and 3/4 cup espresso in a shallow bowl. Dip 1 side of each ladyfinger in the espresso/rum mixture and line the bottom of a 9 by 12 by 2-inch dish. (I used 4 medium drinking glasses.) Pour half the espresso cream mixture evenly on top. Dip 1 side of the remaining ladyfingers in the espresso/rum mixture and place them in a second layer in the dish. Pour the rest of the espresso cream over the top. Smooth the top and cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate overnight.

Before serving, sprinkle the top with shaved chocolate and dust lightly with confectioners’ sugar, if desired.

I dusted them with cocoa powder and crushed some chocolates. :)

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Happy 1st Blog-iversary Tiramisu (via Honey & Hero) « conchsaladesque

  2. Nice recipe! The truth is I love tiramisu but I dislike the sogginess of the lady fingers. ;)

Leave a Reply

