Blue Corn Muffin, Pantry Cleaning Victories

Like almost every cliché home cook… I play in my kitchen. It comes with making a mess and cleaning afterwards. No matter how carefully I crack an egg and smash a garlic clove, or no matter how neatly I pound a chicken breast and peel a shrimp, I always end up with a mess, and I always end up wiping everything like crazy…  The next day? I do it all over again, like a routine, because I don’t like to wake up with a messy kitchen, no.

Now, although I clean up after cooking every day, one important thing slipped my mind until someone had a cup of “sour milk” I handed over him…… 

Therefore, I cleaned pantry and fridge, like totally rock & roll. I opened all the jars, boxes, and containers, smell, taste, put it back or pour to the sink. The sense of order is back, not sure how long it will last though.

I found a box of blue corn meal that’s on the edge of expiring, an hour later they become a dozen of blue corn muffin. I remember I bought the blue corn meal at a bulky food store, just to see how it goes in baking. The last thing I made with it was this Blue Cornmeal Cake, which turned out pretty good but I never tasted the blue part. This time I used a recipe that calls lots of corn meal, so that I can say it out loud that it has BLUE corn meal!  I end up with this easy muffin recipe after the tiring pantry cleaning workout. By easy I mean, literally, I just pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients, fold them roughly and bake. There are half flour and half cornmeal, so it really gives you that corn meal texture, a little bitty and crunchy, and it is blue-purple-ish!

Blue Corn Muffin Recipe

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Massachusetts Corn Muffin

Ingredients

1 cup blue corn meal
1 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup safflower oil
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 tablespoons mild honey, such as acacia or orange blossom
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup whole milk
Directions

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a standard 12-cup muffin tin with baking cups. Whisk together cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and 1 1/4 teaspoons salt in a large bowl. Combine oil, butter, and honey; stir in eggs and milk. Stir oil mixture into cornmeal mixture. Divide batter evenly among baking cups.

2.Bake until tops are golden and a toothpick inserted into the centers comes out clean, about 18 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes.

One comment

  1. I love cornmeal. This recipe looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

