Maple-Pecan Oatmeal Cookies

This is my second year in the Bay area and I start to believe or be convinced that there are really two seasons here: drought or rain…  As I pull on sweater pants plus socks and put away shorts, I think it’s officially time for a cup of afternoon tea along with bites of homemade cookies. It’s that time of the year when I crave something warm and sweet every afternoon. Even better, this year I get to snuggle myself in the coach in front of the big screen listening to the ever so fascinating conversations from Gilmore Girls.

Then, I decide to warm up the house by turning the oven on. The good thing about subscribing to maybe a millions of food bloggers is just at the time I am about to search for a “compatible” cookie recipe, there it is, maple walnut oatmeal cookies, sitting in the inbox calling out “Make me! Make me!” So I twisted the recipe with pecans and whole wheat flour. This cookies is kind of fun to make, because the dough is so loose that it took lots of my elbow grease to form individual balls and flatten it. I almost suspect if it will bake into cookies. And the suspect is nonsense. They turned out crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. The pecan and maple create the best smell around the house. It’s really good, so good that I think I am going to bake a ton in the coming holidays.

Maple-Pecan Oatmeal Cookies Recipe

loosely adapted from Martha Stewart’s Maple-Walnut Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oatmeal
3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/4 pound (1 stick) plus 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
5 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons boiling water
2 3/4 ounces (1 cup) pecan, coarsely chopped, toasted

Directions

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Have ready 2 baking sheets lined with parchment. In a medium bowl, whisk the oatmeal, coconut, flour, salt, and sugar. Set aside.

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the butter, maple syrup, and golden syrup. Heat until the butter is melted. Remove from heat, and set aside. In a small bowl, combine the baking soda with the boiling water. Immediately stir this mixture into the melted butter until combined. Add the maple extract; stir into the oat mixture. Fold in pecans.

Form balls, using 3 tablespoons of dough, and place about 3 inches apart on prepared cookie sheets, 6 to a sheet. Flatten each of the balls slightly.

Bake until golden brown and set, about 20 minutes, rotating halfway through. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

2 comments

  1. Yi

    wow.. I want to try this later during holiday season.. Look so pretty and yummy!

Leave a Reply

