Lemon cupcake with lemon curd frosting

Since we came back from our cater tasting, I can’t help missing the lemon cupcake that’s specially made to my request. I told our dessert pastry chef that I want it look pale yellow and tastes very lemony through and through. So she made me a rocking LEMON cupcake consisting of vanilla cupcake dipped in lemon syrup filled with a dollop of lemon curd, then frosted with pale yellow lemon butter cream topped with white pearl sugar. This cupcake was divine and it puts a big smile on my face.

Well, I just can’t wait till July to eat this cupcake again, so I made one myself, a simple one that’s lemony enough to satisfy my lemon cupcake craving.

lemon cupcake with lemon curd

And about in the same week, my long wished gift – the KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer landed at our door. Needless to say, I rushed to pull out the recipe to test run the new toy.  When the cupcake is out from oven and slightly cooled, my first action is not biting into it. I break it apart, and then spend the next five minutes admiring the crumb inside. I guess it is the case with all people who are passionate of baking, just as in the case of a wood worker who would look at the piece he just made and admire the craftsmanship of it. The paddle attachment of the stand mixer creamed the butter and sugar so creamy and smooth that it produces the tenderest and finest crumb that I had ever made.

tender crumb of lemon cupcake

This lemon cupcake begins with a vanilla cupcake that gets the lemon flavor from adding lemon zest to the batter. After the cupcake have been baked and cooled, just before eating, I spread a generous amount of lemon curd on top. I love lemon curd because it is velvety, creamy and has a wonderful tart sweet citrus flavor. This time I actually succeed in making lemon curd because I didn’t cooked the eggs like I did before.

For the lemon cupcake and lemon curd recipe, you may follow the same steps here just like I did.

Have fun baking!

One comment

Leave a Reply

