Wildlife in Yellowstone and Grand Teton

Wildlife sightings in Yellowstone can create traffic jam, with the biggest headaches from bears. Yellowstone is like Mecca for wildlife photographers and spotting telescopes, quality digital SLR cameras are everywhere and 300mm $1700 lenses are a must. Hell $10,000 to $30,000 super-telephoto lenses which I don’t see often in city are even common! People bring out their best gears here in Yellowstone National Park!

A funny conversation I over heard in the crowd:

“Look at him, he’s got a good lens.”

“How much do these things cost?”

“Probably couple thousands.”

Then the photographer who was holding the enormous lens turned around and said:

“A couple and a couple more thousands…”

LOL!

We are prepared and equipped with an 8 by 32 Nikon binocular which comes pretty handy at viewing wildlife. The whole time I enjoyed the privilege of seating on the side driver’s seat looking for red tail fox secretly taking off, bears feeding on bison carcass, coyotes preying on chipmunk, two grey and white wolf swimming across the pond, and osprey proudly guarding its nest on top of dead lodgepole pine… Through this pair of bright magnifying lens, I get to experience their sides of the story since the animals are not guarded.

Wild life spotting in Lamar Valley, Yellowstone National Park

[ Wild life spotting in Lamar Valley, Yellowstone National Park ]

I got a chance peeking through the lady’s lens, and saw a grizzly bear feeding on some kind of carcass in far distance. It was amazing!

Relaxing bison in Hayden Valley, Yellowstone National Park

[ Relaxing bison in Hayden Valley, Yellowstone National Park ]

Pronghorn and two fawns in Lamar Valley, Yellowstone National Park

[ Pronghorn and two fawns in Lamar Valley, Yellowstone National Park ]

Female Elk feeding in the morning, Yellowstone National Park

[ Female Elk feeding in the morning, Yellowstone National Park ]

A cow moose feeding on wet meadows, Grand Teton National Park

[ A cow moose feeding on wet meadows, Grand Teton National Park ]

7 comments

  1. I am in disbelief right now! I logged in to WordPress right now to post the question to the wildlife photographers out there what equipment I should rent (because I’m not paying $1700 for a lens right now) to bring with me on my trip to Yellowstone next week. I will probably still to the post but I can’t believe you’ve basically answered my question. If you have more advise, please feel free to share it. Thanks

    • If there’s a wildlife by the road, then a 300mm or so lens and tripod (need in early morning and evening). If there’s a wildlife far a way in distance, like wolfs, osprey, and bears I saw most people using telescope lens for serious shots. I didn’t get into wildlife photography, so it didn’t bother me. And I am equally happy with our trusty binocular to view these animals and be amazed. I think that’s the most important part, just be amazed. ;-)

  2. PS – we will be at the lower loop and unfortunately have only 1 day – if you can give me suggestions where are the places are to go, I would really appreciate it. Thanks

    • Hi there,
      If you only have 1 day, then I suggest having the park map on hand, and then going a grand loop road drive and stop wherever there’s interests and points marked on the map and drive the off-the-main highway loop drive that’s on the map. You will cover most of the stuffs this way.

  3. Beautiful Photos and you captured a Moose – oh so cool! Thanks for sharing – Have a Great Day:)

  4. I love the Tetons! Sometimes my spirit longs for a fix of the beautiful West. Thanks for the glimpse!

  5. Amazing shots! Love the look on the moose’s face….

Leave a Reply

