A Glimpse of Lake Tahoe

On our recent trip to the Great Reno Balloon Race, I had my Lake Tahoe mystery solved. Of course it is a “must see” for any trip to the area.

Lake Tahoe seems a rare paradise that boasts both ideal weather and the breadth of recreational inspirations. People come here to be near the crystal clear waters of this largest alpine lake in North America and enjoy things such as Kayaking and Standup Paddling. However, I prefer to have my feet on the dry land for my first visit. Heading west from Truckee, we took the historical Hwy 40 for the scienic drive around Donner Lake. Then, we headed to the south and drove along the west shore of Lake Tahoe all the way down to Emerald Bay.

Donner Lake Overlook, McGlashan Point, old hwy40

[Donner Lake Overlook, at McGlashan Point on old Hwy40]

Hey Bear! Tahoe City

[Hey Bears! Tahoe City]

Panoramic Lake Tahoe

[Panoramic Lake Tahoe, from Eagle Rock]

Eagle rock is a short, steep climb up an old volcanic “plug” along the West Shore, gives you an overlook of Lake Tahoe from up high.

Fannette Island, Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe

[“Tea House” on Fannette Island, Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe]

The “tea house” is built for the owner of Vikingsholm, Mrs. Lora Josephine Knight, where she had served her summer guests for tea once… What an expensive leisure!

I will see you soon Lake Tahoe, when you put on your snow blanket and turn into a winter wonderland!

5 comments

  1. My goodness I am so jealous. This sounds like a wonderful place x Your photos are magnificent!

  2. Beautiful, Breathtaking, Amazing – thanks for sharing! Have a Wonderful Day:)

  3. A Table in the Sun

    Your photos do wonders for this gorgeous vacation spot. I was there a couple of months ago and fell in love with the area all over again. I spent much of my childhood there and hadn’t been back for quit awhile. It’s on my To Do Very Soon list again.

  4. Now, I regret not visiting Lake Tahoe the last time we were there. And yes, like you, I may prefer not having my feet wet for a first visit. =>

Leave a Reply

